New Travel Restrictions to U.S. Effective Today

The U.S. has announced new restrictions on travel to the U.S., effective today (November 29, 2021), in light of the new COVID-19 variant of concern. The new travel restrictions apply to noncitizens who were present in the following countries within 14 days of planned entry to the U.S.: Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. You can read the full Presidential proclamation here.  While there are some exceptions to the policy, currently there is no national interest exception for international student or exchange visitor travelers. ISSS will contact students and exchange visitors individually who we believe could be affected by this policy.   

These newest restrictions are a stark reminder that travel policies may change at any time due to the COVID-19 pandemic, here in the U.S. and worldwide. We continue to urge caution to international students and exchange visitors who are here and considering taking a temporary trip abroad, due to the risk of travel policy changes that may prevent you from returning in time for spring semester commitments.